do you size new brass?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by garydude, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. garydude

    garydude Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    909
    Location:
    Desert Southwest Proper
    Just curious, I just ordered some new brass from starline, and had planned on sizing it prior to reloading. But got me wondering, is this necessary, and do other people do this? Thanks for your input!
  2. jdon72

    jdon72 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Gary, sheck out some previous forums. I posted two in the last 45 days about new brass. Check them out and you will get all the answers you need.

    J
  3. garydude

    garydude Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    909
    Location:
    Desert Southwest Proper
    Will do J,
    Sorry for newb mistake of not searching first. (Just didn't want to count flags or type February 9, 2001 AGAIN.)
    Thanks,
    Gary
  4. LDBennett

    LDBennett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,795
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    The short answer is YES.

    LDBennett
  5. jdon72

    jdon72 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    No prob, just thought all the responses will assure you to resize. It seems odd to 'fix' the 'NEW' brass, but that will fix anymistakes they made.

    J
  6. Gatofeo

    Gatofeo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    Remote Utah desert, separated from Oblivion by a s
    Yes, and check for length after sizing.
    I've learned that the worst offender for overly long brass, straight from the factory before sizing is .32 Winchester Special brass, with .30-30 a close second.
  7. flintlock

    flintlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,109
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    ALways size and check the length of new brass.
  8. garydude

    garydude Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    909
    Location:
    Desert Southwest Proper
    Thanks guys, do appreciate it. I should have clarified, its 45ACP brass that I ordered. Still hold true for pistol brass?
  9. jdon72

    jdon72 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    340
  10. zkovach

    zkovach Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Michigan
  11. oldreliable45120

    oldreliable45120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Yes you should. Brass sometimes gets dinged up a bit in transit.I always fl size, trim, chamfer,and square the primer pockets, on all new brass.
  12. zkovach

    zkovach Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Michigan
    always size brass.
  13. medalguy

    medalguy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    625
    Size and trim both, as almost all new brass requires this.
  14. howlnmad

    howlnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,351
    Location:
    Harriman, Tn
    Yep. Size it, trim it to square up the mouths and de-burr the flash hole.

    howlnmad
  15. BobMcG

    BobMcG Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,299
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Twilight Zone.
    Another yup here. Size & trim and check pockets.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Size new pistol brass? Feb 28, 2014
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Undersized .223 brass Dec 28, 2013
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Does new primed brass need to be resized? Sep 7, 2012
The Ammo & Reloading Forum oversized brass fix? Apr 5, 2012
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Do I need to FL size my new brass? Jan 18, 2010

Share This Page