The Firearms Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Does lower Serial Number on WW1 Colt 1911 mean higher value?

Tags
14K views 28 replies 10 participants last post by  TheGunClinger 
#1 ·
Hi all,
Great site,just found this morning.So,I have a fellow that wants to sell/trade me an original WWI Colt 1911.I'm new at collecting thses and he says its a very rare gun with the serial number being 1944...I have yet to travel to see it,over 2 hrs away,but from the photos it looks ligit...My question is does having the low serial number make this a $5K gun as opposed to a $1000-$2000 gun?
Thanks for your input.

#2 ·
Are you saying it is 1,944,XXX as in 1 million 9 hundred 44 thousand? If so it adds no value. 1944 by itself would be a very early gun and have a premium value. To be 5000 dollars it had better be new in the original box or carton. Even if perfect a 1 million range gun would not come close to 5000.

#3 ·
Are you saying it is 1,944,XXX as in 1 million 9 hundred 44 thousand? If so it adds no value. 1944 by itself would be a very early gun and have a premium value. To be 5000 dollars it had better be new in the original box or carton. Even if perfect a 1 million range gun would not come close to 5000.
THANKS for reply...
NO..not in millions...number on side of gun is NO1944 and doesnt appear to have been newly stamped or tampered with.

#5 ·
This is one of those times that Pics are needed to give you any idea of value or actual age of this Colt.
For example, my early Colt 1911 is marked C7000 made in 1914 or 1915 and that is worth $5000.

So before use spend your hard earned cash, make sure you know what you are buying.

#7 ·
IF everything is kosher it probably is worth that. Serial #1944 is first year production (1912) and was one of a batch of 500 made for the US Navy. Whether or not it would be marked USN I don't know.
There were a total of 7000 M1911 made for the Navy in 1912.