Does new primed brass need to be resized?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by elkslayer4x5, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. elkslayer4x5

    elkslayer4x5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Lane County, Oregon
    I posted this question over on another gun/reloadong forum, but got inclusive awnsers, so thought I see what you fellas think.
    While reading the basics of reloading in the Lyman 49th, I read a statemant that I should resize new brass, does that apply to new primed brass as well?
  2. aa1911

    aa1911 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,194
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    yes, I would for sure. Even if it's only a tiny difference. If it's primed, only thing you do different is remove the decapping device.
  3. howlnmad

    howlnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,856
    Location:
    Harriman, Tn
    :yeahthat: It certainly doesn't hurt.
  4. ozo

    ozo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,310
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    New primed brass should be sized already......
    did the package not say??
    This is why I don't buy it like that.......
    don't know what you have.....
  5. CampingJosh

    CampingJosh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Indiana
    Take some measurements. If it's not 100% right, then resize it.

    I don't know for sure; I've never bought new brass.
  6. mikld

    mikld Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    786
    Location:
    Oregon
    All the brass available today is mass produce by the millions on machines. If you trust the machines and inspectors to always produce cases that are within spec., then just load 'em up. I just measure a few new cases from each group I buy and usually don't need to size and if one is way off, I usually catch it when visually inspecting prior to loading...
  7. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,241
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    new brass needs to be sized and trimmed. I have loaded it right out of the package but only because I needed fireformed brass and was gonna be trimming it again anyway. But i should have sized and trimmed it beforehand.
  8. aa1911

    aa1911 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,194
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I never understood the primed brass thing in the first place? why would you even want primed brass, I like to know what I'm using and do it myself, it's such a non-time consuming step, it's just never appealed to me. But even if it claims it's ready to go, I don't trust anyone but me so I'm gonna take the extra step and run it through the resizer die even if it doesn't contact just to ensure my bullets will seat correctly.

    seems common with new shotgun hulls too, lots of primed hulls for sale.

    new brass is nice though, I buy new .357 brass, usually winchester or starline, as .357 ammo cost is thru the roof along with everything else.

    .40 and .45 I just scrounge and buy in bulk once fired as I shoot so much of it. one good trip thru the tumbler and it looks plenty good enough.
  9. American Leader

    American Leader Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,682
    Location:
    Iowa
  10. Deacon_Man

    Deacon_Man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    Weatherford Texas
    Always resize your brass, new or old. Otherwise you can end up with brass loaded with primer and powder and when you insert the bullet it just falls into the case.If your going to reload, don't try to cut corners. It's a risky bussiness to start with. Be safe
  11. RJay

    RJay Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,201
    Location:
    Goodyear, Arizona
    Well, every one who posted may very well be right, I will add I have used both new unprimed brass and new primed brass, loaded it right out of the box. never had any problem with the bullet falling through or any of it being under sized or over sized. Just my experience. I did this when i was starting out and did not have a supply of brass on hand and I would not hesitate to do so again. Again just my experience.:) When you get a new box of bullets do you mike each one to insure that they are the right size and not under or over sized?
  12. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,241
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    Yes.

    I weight sort them too.

    I also weight sort my rifle brass and hand weigh all my charges for my rifles too.
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  13. cutter

    cutter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    On bottle neck brass (and straight wall) I have seen the tops bent in due to shipping and handling. I always resize all of my brass.
  14. 76Highboy

    76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Yes you should resize all new brass even if it is primed. I compared new resized brass and just factory resized and the difference is noticeable. When you take the time to resize it the bullet fits more snug in the case. Try it for yourself and you will see. The factory brass will allow the bullet to be seated much easier then the brass that you take the time to resize. The sizing difference will have an affect on accuracy.
  15. Alpo

    Alpo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    10,594
    Location:
    NW Florida
    It's actually quite simple. It's not the time (at least not for me). It's the money.

    If I buy 500 pieces of new brass, and 500 primers to go with them, I have to pay haz-mat of 25 dollars on those 500 primers. If, however, I buy 500 rounds of primed brass, there is no haz-mat fee. 25 dollar savings.
  16. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,241
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    and 1K primers is less than 50 bucks still. so it makes 0 sense to buy primed brass.
  17. 76Highboy

    76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    Ya I agree. 1000 primers cost $29.00. I have never ordered primers through the mail so have never paid Hazmat. I think the Hazmat fee is stupid. Oh wait, it's a government mandated fee. Oh, that makes sense. :bleh:
  18. Alpo

    Alpo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    10,594
    Location:
    NW Florida
    No it's not. UPS dreamed it up, and when FedEx saw that the moronic public paid it, they started charging it too. Was 3 bucks, went to 4, then 5, then 7, then 10, 13, 15, 20 and now it's 25.

    Just one more way for Big Brown to screw the customer. Like "Pistols have to go next day air". Lots of folks think that's government madated. Nope. All UPS's idea.
  19. aa1911

    aa1911 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,194
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    that's right, I forgot about the glitch; somehow primers are super safe when they're in a piece of brass or hull and don't get dinged with the hazmat fee. But then ya only get one firing and will need to buy primers anyway. But done in the right quantity, you can surely save some $$ at least the first time.

    I spot check weight on rifle bullets, rifle brass and usually will weight every single powder charge. For hunting loads, I weight and sort every single component (OK, not the primer) But shotgun or pistol and it gets slammed thru the progressive and goes from the box thru my barrel without a second glance. I've found 9mm bullets in boxes of .40 and FMJ's in boxes of JHP bullets, etc but the size is always consistent enough to be safe at least.
  20. 76Highboy

    76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8,568
    I did not know that, I was just smarting off. But, if you don't mind I would like to just flat out blame Obama for it if that's OK. It just feels right.:D
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
The Ammo & Reloading Forum does this look familiar? Mar 1, 2014
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Velocity Does'nt Mean Accuracy A Lot of the Time Jan 8, 2014
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Why Does 115gr.9mm Always Sells Out First And 124gr.Seems To Remain On The Shelf Sep 21, 2013
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Does anyone carry powder and primers anymore? Jun 20, 2013
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Does It Matter Much To Reload A Shell That Still Has Black Residue In The Bottom Jun 18, 2013