1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

    Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

    Thanks and good luck to everyone

Does new primed brass need to be resized?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by elkslayer4x5, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. elkslayer4x5

    elkslayer4x5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Lane County, Oregon
    I posted this question over on another gun/reloadong forum, but got inclusive awnsers, so thought I see what you fellas think.
    While reading the basics of reloading in the Lyman 49th, I read a statemant that I should resize new brass, does that apply to new primed brass as well?
  2. aa1911

    aa1911 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,221
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    yes, I would for sure. Even if it's only a tiny difference. If it's primed, only thing you do different is remove the decapping device.
  3. howlnmad

    howlnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,064
    Location:
    Harriman, Tn
    :yeahthat: It certainly doesn't hurt.
  4. ozo

    ozo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,477
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    New primed brass should be sized already......
    did the package not say??
    This is why I don't buy it like that.......
    don't know what you have.....
  5. CampingJosh

    CampingJosh Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,522
    Location:
    Indiana
    Take some measurements. If it's not 100% right, then resize it.

    I don't know for sure; I've never bought new brass.
  6. mikld

    mikld Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    908
    Location:
    Oregon
    All the brass available today is mass produce by the millions on machines. If you trust the machines and inspectors to always produce cases that are within spec., then just load 'em up. I just measure a few new cases from each group I buy and usually don't need to size and if one is way off, I usually catch it when visually inspecting prior to loading...
  7. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,271
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    new brass needs to be sized and trimmed. I have loaded it right out of the package but only because I needed fireformed brass and was gonna be trimming it again anyway. But i should have sized and trimmed it beforehand.
  8. aa1911

    aa1911 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,221
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I never understood the primed brass thing in the first place? why would you even want primed brass, I like to know what I'm using and do it myself, it's such a non-time consuming step, it's just never appealed to me. But even if it claims it's ready to go, I don't trust anyone but me so I'm gonna take the extra step and run it through the resizer die even if it doesn't contact just to ensure my bullets will seat correctly.

    seems common with new shotgun hulls too, lots of primed hulls for sale.

    new brass is nice though, I buy new .357 brass, usually winchester or starline, as .357 ammo cost is thru the roof along with everything else.

    .40 and .45 I just scrounge and buy in bulk once fired as I shoot so much of it. one good trip thru the tumbler and it looks plenty good enough.
  9. American Leader

    American Leader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Iowa
  10. Deacon_Man

    Deacon_Man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    542
    Location:
    Weatherford Texas
    Always resize your brass, new or old. Otherwise you can end up with brass loaded with primer and powder and when you insert the bullet it just falls into the case.If your going to reload, don't try to cut corners. It's a risky bussiness to start with. Be safe
  11. RJay

    RJay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,419
    Location:
    Goodyear, Arizona
    Well, every one who posted may very well be right, I will add I have used both new unprimed brass and new primed brass, loaded it right out of the box. never had any problem with the bullet falling through or any of it being under sized or over sized. Just my experience. I did this when i was starting out and did not have a supply of brass on hand and I would not hesitate to do so again. Again just my experience.:) When you get a new box of bullets do you mike each one to insure that they are the right size and not under or over sized?
  12. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,271
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    Yes.

    I weight sort them too.

    I also weight sort my rifle brass and hand weigh all my charges for my rifles too.
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  13. cutter

    cutter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    On bottle neck brass (and straight wall) I have seen the tops bent in due to shipping and handling. I always resize all of my brass.
  14. 76Highboy

    76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8,683
    Yes you should resize all new brass even if it is primed. I compared new resized brass and just factory resized and the difference is noticeable. When you take the time to resize it the bullet fits more snug in the case. Try it for yourself and you will see. The factory brass will allow the bullet to be seated much easier then the brass that you take the time to resize. The sizing difference will have an affect on accuracy.
  15. Alpo

    Alpo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Location:
    NW Florida
    It's actually quite simple. It's not the time (at least not for me). It's the money.

    If I buy 500 pieces of new brass, and 500 primers to go with them, I have to pay haz-mat of 25 dollars on those 500 primers. If, however, I buy 500 rounds of primed brass, there is no haz-mat fee. 25 dollar savings.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Does brass quality really matter?? Yesterday at 2:57 PM
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Does brand new .308 brass need to go through the re-sizing process Sep 22, 2014
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Does your SD ammo match your developed reload in recoil/accuracy? Jul 24, 2014
The Ammo & Reloading Forum RCBS Colored Boxes... What does it mean? May 23, 2014
The Ammo & Reloading Forum does this look familiar? Mar 1, 2014

Share This Page