Double checking your work

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by 1 Eyed Jack, Dec 1, 2011.

1. 1 Eyed Jack

1 Eyed Jack New Member

Another lesson learned on double checking your work when reloading, I'm still a beginner at reloading, so far the end results I have gotten from my first batch of Win .284 have been great, I had 20 rounds to finish for my first batch of 100 rounds, while in the early stages of this first batch I had used 3 of the 120 gr Sierra Spitzers I had bought to make dummy rounds for length sizing etc, no primer, no powder, just a prepped/trimmed case and the projectile, so I was 3 short to complete the 100 primed/prepped cases,

I had some left over's that were with the reloading stuff from my Dad, 120 gr Sierra's, but they were Spire points, so I weighed them and measured them, looked OK,

Max OAL for the .284 is 2.800, but I found early on that at that length they would not chamber from the magazine without buggering up the soft lead point a little (short action Mod 88 lever gun), so after trying different seating depths I came to 2.775 as the max OAL with the Spitzers, of course the reason I did this was so the rounds would chamber from the mag without damaging the soft point, works great, grouping was better than I could have hoped for, and at a low/starting point charge of 51 grs of IMR 4350,

So to get to the point, and the experienced reloaders probably already know where I am going, I completed the last 20, using the 3 Spire points, to the naked eye the Spitzers and the Spire's looked the same, shape wise, this was a week ago, and my neighbor had helped me as he was interested and I had started him and his son shooting about a year ago, we were BS-ing and I did not check OAL at that time,