Double D – What a guy!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rocketman1, May 27, 2012.

1. Rocketman1

Rocketman1 Well-Known Member

Early this month, I posted a story about what I had to do to buy a new pistol. I wanted a .22, and was having a difficult time convincing the wife to let me buy one, so I cashed in five gallons of pennies that I had been saving for thirty years, and bought the S&W 22-A that I had been wanting.

I never dreamed that my adventure of cashing in my pennies for a gun would result in getting two new guns, but that is exactly what happened. Double D our moderator and host, saw my post about the pennies, and ended up sending me a brand new Marlin 785 22 long rifle! He even through in the 20 bucks for the transfer fee! My original post about the pennies is located here: http://www.thefirearmsforum.com/showthread.php?t=106484

No one has ever done anything like this for me in my entire life. Double D is one very special person, to give such a gift to a complete stranger. The generosity and friendship of people like Double D here at TFF amazes me.

I tried out the Smith 22 pistol two weeks ago and I did much better with the Smith 22 then I do with my 9mm. I was all over the target, but at least I hit it. Last Saturday I went again to try out the Marlin. I got to the range early so I would be sure to get a spot, and decided to hit the handgun range first, knowing that it can get very busy. My plan was to move over to the 50-yard and possibly the 100-yard rifle range a little later to try the Marlin out, but it got so busy I never got the chance, and had to settle for the 25-yard range.