Easier to Grab My Balls

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by onetuza, Oct 1, 2011.

1. onetuza

onetuza New Member

I'm new to C&B and during my first range visit I was surprised to find it difficult to grab my balls out of the box they came in, I suppose due to the relative weight. I'd seen others put individual recesses in the base to hold 6 or so, but I wanted something different.
    Well, as an anal retentive Virgo, I set about to remedy this problem. Below is the result:

[​IMG]

First I put a snap top on a small water bottle to use as a dispenser. It works great. I dump a bunch in my hand and load the tubes. I took my standard hinged stand and glued brass shoulder washers and lengths of 1/2" i.d. clear acrylic tubing to it. I slanted the cuts at the bottom so I can grab a ball with thumb and index finger. Pull one ball, the next drops down in place. 9 each tube, 18 total, enough for three rounds.

[​IMG]

When the revolver is removed, the vertical portion of the stand easily flops over even without the ball tubes. If for some reason I had to remove the revolver with the tube full, my balls would likely end up all over the floor, so I recessed and glued in two cylindrical neodymium magnets in the base and screwed in two flat head screws into the bottom edge of the hinged portion. Holds well and can be closed with minimum effort. I also added four large peel and stick rubber thingies on the bottom of the unit to keep it from slipping around while loading.

[​IMG]

So, now I'm ready for my next project.
    BTW, the glue used was E6000 crafts glue.
  2. Brisk44

Brisk44 New Member

Well it seems you"ve got your balls well in hand, Good job. And thanks for the tip! Also welcome to TFF. :D
  3. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we