Exploding primer tube

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by smlranger, Nov 7, 2011.

1. smlranger

smlranger New Member

2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    Well, I just read the whole thread, and all I can say is anything is possible! I've been reloading for over 40 years, and have never had anything go wrong, yet. Well, there was the one time that I forgot to add powder to a load!! Though I don't use the Dillion, nor do I use the pick up tube, I still find it hard to believe that this could have happened, but I do believe that it did. Dillon can't explain it, and they told the guy this happened to that they had no plans to change the design of the pick up tube. I'm sure that there will be others here that do use the Dillon products, maybe they will have some ideas of their own.
  3. 243winxb

243winxb New Member

Primer dust can build up inside the tube. The tubes should be cleaned to remove this residue now & then. Not all primers are sealed with a coating. This guy forced the primer feed, not a good thing to do. [​IMG]
  4. Brisk44

Brisk44 New Member

Anytime you force something, bad things can happen. These parts and processes are designed to operate smoothly, when you force them you're asking for trouble.
  5. cpttango30

cpttango30 Guest

That's what SHE said.....
  6. smlranger

smlranger New Member

I must have missed something in the OP's original post. What did he force? I thought he said he had used the pick up tube to pick up 50 primers and when he placed the tube in the press and pulled the pin, it went bang!

Also, how do folks generally clean the primer pick up tubes?
  7. Caneman

Caneman Active Member

LOL, u bad man :D
  8. zant

zant Active Member

In 25yrs of using a Dillion 550,I can't begin to know how many times I've filled my primer tubes-no problems....I blow out the tubes once a week with air.....
  9. 243winxb

243winxb New Member