1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

factory 223 rem rounds

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Evins74s, Jan 19, 2012.

1. Evins74s

Evins74s Member

Does anybody know how much powder the factory puts in a round? I don't want to pull one apart to find out. The round in question is a 55gr fmj 223 rem.
  2. medalguy

medalguy Member

The amount of powder doesn't matter much if you don't know which powder they use. Use your reloading manual to work up a charge for your own guns.
  3. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

Why do you ask?
  4. Evins74s

Evins74s Member

Just curious is all. I am new at reloading and I loaded some of my first rounds the other day, Hornady V-max 55gr w/23.0, 23.7 & 24.0gr of Varget powder. These loads are lite even compaired to what LEE Modern Reloading 2nd Edition says to start out at, which is 25.5gr.
  5. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

Welcome to the forum , first of all.

I suggest that if the manual says the starting load is 25.5, you should stick with what the manual says. With that said, I will say that the Hornady #7 manual says the starting load is 22.8 with max being 26.4, so you should be OK with what you loaded. I don't know how old the Lee # 2 manual is, but I would also suggest that you pick up a couple of new manuals so you have more than one reference book.
  6. Evins74s

Evins74s Member

I just got the manual about 3wks ago. I was looking at a friends manual that he got at a big name store and it said t start at 23gr so I did. Then I got my manual in the mail about 1wk later.
  7. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest