Firing a vintage flintlock

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Jackman, Jan 15, 2008.

1. Jackman

Jackman New Member

I have a flintlock that probly has not been fired in 100 years or more, sure would like to fire it............ I have no knowledge of flint locks so I don't even no where to start......... The flint lock is a US North Midl Conn 1833 its a breech loader , it appears to be in working condition , however I think it has the wrong Ramrod. The Ramrod appears to be too short or missing a piece, one end of the ram rod is mushroom shaped (like a golf tee) and the other end is threaded but I have nothing to thread on to it also when I drop the rod in to the barrell it falls all the way in as if its too short........... Anyway ideas are appreciated............

Jack
  2. Little Rooster

Little Rooster New Member

Is this a breech loader or a muzzel loader? The ram rod would be short, to fit in the channel. When you place the load in it would stick out past the muzzels end, if it is a muzzel loader. If it's a breech loader that is a cleaning rod. I am sure some of the others will chime in here. Please post a few pictures of it so we can help you
  3. Jackman

Jackman New Member

Rooster,Thanks for the reply......... Ill get my son to post a picture as soon a s possible. I think your right its probley a cleaning rod, it kinda makes sense now.. Just forward of the trigger guard is a latch spring loaded latch that when pulled rearward pops up the the top portion of the gun and I believe that is were you would load it........ I will absolutly post some pics soon........

Thanks Jack
  4. jjmitchell60

jjmitchell60 Active Member

Raised in Buzzard Roost near Frog Town in hillls o