First load results

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by SFW, Nov 30, 2008.

1. SFW

SFW New Member

Hello all. I'm just getting into the world of reloading. I have an old RCBS setup that my father has passed on to me. I primarily will be using this setup for my .270 and my son's 30-30.

My first "test" load was for my .270WIN. I wanted to be able to do some varmit hunting with the rifle, so I chose the Sierra 277 dia. 90 gr. HP Varminter bullet. I used 55 grains of H380 powder and CCI 200 primers. Loads were all hand weighed to make sure that they were as consistant as possible. Here are the results from the range"

[​IMG]

Eight rounds on the paper at 100 years (sighted 1.5 high to be on at 200 yards.) Seven of them can be covered with a US quarter. The eigth round was sent left when the guy shooting the 300 mag next to me fired as I was getting ready. So I jerked the round- not a fault of the ammo or load. I am quite please with my first attempt at a "new to me" load.
  2. muddober

muddober Active Member

That is a very respectable group and I am suprised that you did it with such light bullets. Most 270's do very well with 130-150. I am going to have to try your load in my gun. Thanks for sharing.:)
  3. artabr

artabr New Member

Welcome to the forum.
    Great group! Consistency is the key to tight groups.

Art
  4. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

That's a pretty nice group for the 90gr Sierra HPs in your .270.
    I have used that bullet in the past in my dad's Rem700 .270 when I took it along as a backup on a prairie poodle hunt a few years back. if I remember, I was getting about 1.25"-1.5" groups at 100yds pushing the bullet with IMR4064. I never did a lot of tweaking on the load though since it was just a backup rifle.