First Reloading Mistake

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by JTofGPD, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. JTofGPD

    JTofGPD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I picked up a box of Magnum Pistol Primers and a Box of Magnum Rifle Primers as I ran out and had a couple dozen rounds to load up. . I was going to load up rifle first and so I set aside my pistol dies, pistol powder, and 'pistol' primers. I reach for my components and count out the number of bullets, cases, and primers that I was going to load. I put the boxes back and start reloading.

    After loading up my 30-06 loads last night, I go to load up my pistol and get those components out tonight. As I reach for the 'pistol' primers, I see they are in fact the Rifle Primers.

    See my problem?

    I loaded up my 30-06 load for my savage bolt action (58gr Varget under a 110 gr. Hornady SP) with Magnum Large Pistol Primers (CCI 350) instead of Magnum Large Rifle Primers (CCI 250).


    Looks like bullet pulling time for me...

    ...Unless they are shoot-able, but doesn't this run the risk of pierced primers, not enough spark to ignite powder efficiently, gas coming back into action etc?
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  2. Alpo

    Alpo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    11,132
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Yes, that is exactly the risk you run. Tear 'em down and try again.
  3. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,264
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    best to err on the safe side, tear em down and reload them again. one reason to only select the components you immediately need and to triple check the labels. a careless reloader would not have noticed til something went wrong at the range, you noticed, therefore pay attention to detail IMO, good catch.
  4. JTofGPD

    JTofGPD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Wyoming
    at least the powder is salvageable...
  5. Jackman

    Jackman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    Can those unspent primers be safely removed and reused ?
  6. Alpo

    Alpo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    11,132
    Location:
    NW Florida
    Many people will say no, but I've done it since I started reloading, some thirty-odd years ago. Long as I know what primer is in there.

    If I'm not sure, I chamber the primed brass and pop the primers. People will tell you "put some oil in the case and that will kill the primer". Old wives' tale. It's been disproved, but folks keep saying it. 'Sides, even if it worked, you then have oil contaminating your case, and you have to clean it to keep from killing your powder.
  7. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,264
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    Im with alpo, I prime and deprime on the press, now is a great time to have a universal decapper die, just catch the primers in a clean bowl and reuse them. They will come out of the case rather easily compared to after you have fired them. I have never had one go off and I have seated some sideways and completely crushed them, then poked em back out and into the trashcan. Seated some upsidedown once too, the decapper pin has to push right where the firing pin hits, this made me nervous, but again they didnt pop, and i reused them in some plinkin loads, worked great, but all the loaded rounds looked fired because of the dent from the decapper... just be careful and keep your face away...
  8. mikld

    mikld Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Oregon
    I've knocked out live primers w/o any problems, on a couple occations (50 LRM as I recall). Just go gently and push them out.

    FWIW, when I reload I get the components out on my bench otherwise it all stays in the cabinet. Then I have a look at what I have there; right primers? Right bullets? Correct powder? Then I load 'em up. When done I check again, then return the stuff to the cabinet. Only the items I'll be using gets outside the cabinet.
  9. JTofGPD

    JTofGPD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I've popped out numerous live primers.... Works with Rifle primers in Rifle cases, damages the pistol primers in rifle cases, may also just be the de-capping pin is set too low. I've got 30 rounds to pull, so might as well see. :eek:
  10. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,264
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    slow and easy
  11. redwing carson

    redwing carson Former Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    734
    Location:
    western wyoming
    Make sure you wear safety glasses, just in case some one is wrong on this project. I have done this more than s few times over the years. I don't recall a blow out. I have noticed the primers may not seat as tight the seconed time around. You may have a few which are damaged and will not fire. The little cheapo Lee Decapper is a good investment.


    RC
  12. dmh

    dmh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Wyoming
    i've removed live primers and re-used them with success as well. as said the only thing is dont slam your press on it of course, slowly engage and pop out. sometimes it can muscle memory to just plow through decapping brass. sounds like you're good now tho
  13. TheGunClinger

    TheGunClinger Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,787
    Location:
    SW Florida
    I had one go off one time. It was in sidways and pretty crunched up. I pushed it out from the inside with a small screwdriver. Didnt hit it hard or fast, just a gentle push and kabloowe. Only time that has ever happened. I was wearing my glasses thank goodness.
  14. JTofGPD

    JTofGPD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Wyoming
    removed 30 live pistol primers from the rifle cases. had 5 that came out dented or otherwise damaged. oiled them and tossed em out. the 25 other primers look good and will be loaded up in my next batch of plinker 44 mag loads (180 LRN over 7 gr Trailboss).
  15. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,264
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    not a bad slavage rate, nice work
  16. Texxut

    Texxut Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Utah
    JTofGPD,
    This is how I preclude what you did.
    First; clear my bench of all primers, powder, brass, bullets.
    Second; gather the components called for in the load
    The powder can, sits behind the powder drop until I'm done loading and the leftover powder is returned to the can.
    The primer boxes stay on the back of the bench, till done. etc.
    You get the picture. Works for me.
  17. JLA

    JLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    18,264
    Location:
    Heart Of Texas
    same procedure here, except i have 20K primers so i only grab as many as I need to put on the desk and only toss the empty packages in the trash when im done so i have a constant reminder of what im using while im using it...
  18. JTofGPD

    JTofGPD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I keep my powder and bullets in a ammo can and my primers separate in my component box (manuals, scale, etc.) My reloading table is the same as my garage workbench used for motorcycle and car parts and odd jobs, so its always picked up and stored when I am done reloading. Everything has a place and is in order, labeled, or marked somehow.

    My normal reloading routine is as follows:

    --set trimmed and sized cases on empty bench,
    --get primers out of component box on floor, count out # needed, place in cup
    --get bullets out and count out # needed, place in other cup/box
    --prime cases
    --charge cases
    --seat bullets, inspect each round
    --Put all components away and start over if I am loading another round/caliber.

    Seemed fool proof :D

    Just not idiot proof...:p
  19. Texxut

    Texxut Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Location:
    Utah
    The good part is, as JLA said,you caught it, and that's what counts.:D

    I always listen to "the little voice". Once it said to me "that didn't sound right, don't touch that trigger!" And sure enough, I had just dropped the hammer on the only cartridge I have ever loaded without powder and I had a 9mm bullet about 1/3 the way down my barrel. oops. We've all had 'em.:(
  20. Martin S

    Martin S New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Montgomery Co. Indiana
    JT,
    That was a small mistake compared to mine. I had a 22BR rifle made from a Rem. 700. The first shot blew it up!! I had over $1700 invested in the rifle. Here's the problem. I was thinking about trying two different powders in it. I did the same thing you did ecept the switch was with the powder. The powder I used was way over max. I had to beat the bolt open. The case separated at the head leaving the head welded to the bolt face. It ruined the bolt and I'm not sure it didn't stretch the action. I went to a gun show and bought another barreled action and had the 22BR barrrel installed. Another $400 added to the rifle. That tought me a lesson. Go over your load. See what components you have laid out before you load. OLD AGE!!!:eek:

    Martin
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Did I make a mistake jumping into reloading? Jul 2, 2014
The Ammo & Reloading Forum My first reloading mistake Mar 18, 2013
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Reloading Mistakes Jul 4, 2011
The Ammo & Reloading Forum My most stupid reloading mistake........ Sep 2, 2004
The Ammo & Reloading Forum Carrying around a reloading manual in your cell phone Jul 3, 2014

Share This Page