Flintlock pistol information

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by richb134, Feb 1, 2011.

1. richb134

richb134 New Member

Hi
    I am new to the thread and would appreciate any info you can give me on an old flintlock pistol my dad left me when he passed away in 1998. I know nothing about guns and have tried to attach pictures twice and lost my post so please bear with me. I am quite sure this gun is not a reproduction because dad went through the depression and never spent a penny he didn't have to. The condition is rough as some of the wood is cracked. I remember seeing the gun in the 1970's as a child and thought it was marked 1776 (No, i'm not making that up). I am curios as to history and value if anyone has an opinion. My email is brunger7@yahoo.com. I will TRY to add photos to this thread but I wanted to post somthing to get the ball rolling during the blizzard outside. Thanks in advance for any information.
    Rich

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
  2. Jackman

Jackman New Member

Pics are an important part , post some up....

I have two old early American muskets ,one pistol and the other a long gun Ive found it hard to gather info on the web...
  3. Jackman

Jackman New Member

Nice I think the 1776 time period would be a flintlock , may be an expert will chime in ...
  4. richb134

richb134 New Member

Thanks for the quick reply. I will post better pictures when the blizzard in Chicago is over!
  5. Buffalochip

Buffalochip Active Member

Well, it ain't no flintlock, blizzard or no. Not to say it wasn't at one time. It is a percussion in its present form. Google "flintlock pistol"s and you will see what I mean. Estimated value in its present condition, $150-250.
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
  6. rhmc24

rhmc24 Member