flintlock still not igniting often should i use real black powder?

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by rob the painter, Dec 11, 2007.

1. rob the painter

rob the painter New Member

i am useing the black powder substitute pyrodex p - fffg i ground down some of this to use in the pan and it ignites perfect! i thouroughly cleaned the flash hole and barrel and everything else to make sure there is no residue anywhere but still no ignition and the times it does ignite there is a really long delay, nothing like i see in other flintlock videos, is this because i need real black powder?
  2. Texman

Texman New Member

yepp, REAL black powder, and DRY at that and your flint dry also.
  3. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

We have discussed this before. Pyrodex is great stuff, but not for flintlocks, at least not by itself.

I've been shooting flintlocks for 15+ years. I had ignition problems early on. I solved the problem by loading 15 gr. of real blackpowder into the barrel first, then putting the Pyrodex charge in next. I would then seat the ball on top of this load.

Try this "duplex" load and prime with BP and your problems should be over. Good luck.
  4. rob the painter

thanks ! i know i read about the duplex load you wrote about , but then i heard that wasnt safe, so i tried grinding some pyrodex down for the first part of the load but only about 8 grains then the load of pyrodex , i also found that i was useing pyrodex p and this was for use pistols and rifles upto 40cal but i am shooting .54 cal dont know if this matters but i thought it would make ignition easier useing a finer grain , it is hard to find real black powder i live in san bernardino , california and cant find any real black powder!
  5. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

Rob, I know what you mean about finding real blackpowder. It is NOT easy. I was lucky to find some 4F at a local shop back before 9/11.