Full Auto Shotguns

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by rstuartcars, Sep 8, 2006.

1. rstuartcars

rstuartcars New Member

Hi, this is my first time putting a post on this forum, so if I seem timid, or totally mess it up please bear with me. :eek: :)

I've seen a lot of online articles on 12 ga. shotguns that can fire 3 round bursts or fire full auto [ i.e. they are shotguns that are machine guns]. Two examples are the CAWS shotgun, or the USAS-12 shotgun.

I guess that 12 ga. machineguns, or machine gun caliber shotguns are rare, and maybe they aren't used at all. I'd think maybe a 7.62 assault rifle would work better in combat.

Can anyone answer this question for me?

Do fully automatic shotguns have any practical use for soldiers, or police, or other such professionals?
  2. Welcome to TFF, rstuartcars! :D

Fully automatic shotguns are not terribly common and are normally restricted totally to military or police ownership and use. Personally, I can easily see how they might be valuable for military use in close quarters situations, especially assaults against buildings, but probably much less useful to police because of their necessary concern for bystanders. Some of these weapons have a cyclic rate of fire around 360 rounds per minute, and with an open choke, that would spread a whale of a lot of buckshot pellets very widely and very quickly. At close quaters, there is NOTHING, not even a full auto assault rifle, that is more deadly than a shotgun.
  3. southernshooter

southernshooter New Member

Welcome Rs
    Yes they have a valuble tactical application multible target engagements with out haveing to be totally dead on with your aim which is not easy under adrenaline and low light conditions
  4. rstuartcars

rstuartcars New Member