Garand peep sight - how to use

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by ptschum, Mar 6, 2011.

1. ptschum

ptschum New Member

Ok guys. I've been shooting for many years but the Garand is my first weapon with a peep sight and I am just not getting it. Had 2 of them for about 18 months.

I've tried centering the front blade in the center of the ghost dot in the rear sight. I've tried putting the post at the top and bottom of the ghost dot. I've tried ignoring the ghost dot and just put the post in what looks like the center of the peep sight.

My groups are mainly strung vertically. At 50yds I get about an 1 to 1 1/2 inch group left to right but 4 to 5 inch top to bottom.

I shot about 200 - 300 rounds through the 2 M1s that I have and things haven't improved.

So, How does that peep sight work? Or do I need to just switch to a different sighting system?
  2. Jim K

Jim K New Member

Assuming you are shooting at a conventional bullseye target, center the target in the rear peep and put the front sight at the bottom of the bullseye. (The "pumpkin on the fencepost" as one instructor used to say.)

Vertical stringing can be caused by the stock bedding, an improperly installed gas cylinder, the shooter changing hold or altering the sight picture or by the sight failing to hold the elevation setting. (The latter can be due to a worn elevation screw, worn notches in the receiver itself, or a sight that has not been properly tightened.) Another cause if firing from a rest is the way the rifle is rested; if that changes, or if the butt contacts the bench, you can get vertical stringing.

Jim
  3. Jim Hauff

Jim Hauff New Member

ptschum - Welcome to the forum!

Everything posted by JimK - good info.