gdmoody oops!!

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by accident, Sep 12, 2009.

1. accident

accident Well-Known Member Supporting Member

thanks for the welcome.i'm new to reloading & I learned something today.never try to remove a reverse installed primer with a pick.after the first one,my wife was already complaining of the noise.
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Ouch...... My method for dealing with any primer that is not seated properly is to shoot it with WD40, let it sit for at least 15 minutes and then toss it in the scrap brass. I'd much rather waste a .05c primer and the case than to blow something up.

Make sure you get a good shot of WD into the cup ; On the 25 cases that i tested, with federal primers, zero fired after a 10 min soak. These were some pre-primed cases that had mouth sealant on them, i had to figure out a way to salvage the case, since my expander die kept clogging after every round. I only deprimed after the primer had been struck. I'm not advising this; I would like others thoughts as to the safety and logic or lack thereof on the subject of depriming a struck and WD'd primer.
    ( granted, the one's that i struck were installed correctly, but it did provide a fair amount of proof IMO that WD will kill a primer )
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2009
  3. accident

accident Well-Known Member Supporting Member

thanks for the info wooleyworm.esp. the wd40 trick you are right it works
  4. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

Yeow - that is not the best way to remove the primers.

woolleyworm's method works sooooo much better. Just be careful with everything when reloading......I have a few stories that I won't tell online.:D:D:;)
  5. olehippy

olehippy New Member

Of course its always ‘better to be safe than sorry’. One might think a single primer going off isnt going to hurt you (if you have enough gray matter to wear eye protection anyway) but. . .