Getting back after a long time, need advice

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by White Hawk, Apr 14, 2006.

1. White Hawk

White Hawk New Member

Hey all,

I used to shoot & carry years ago, and I'm interested in getting back into the game. My last gun was a 9mm Browning Hi-Power tournament model, I sold it to my dad 10 years ago (he talked me into it) and he refuses to part with it.

I'm wanting to get a .45 this time, and I've been looking around. Since I have single-action experience, I thought of getting a 1911. But I've also looked at double-actions, and the guys at my local gun store really like the Sig P220.

What I'm wanting to do is hit the range again and see if I can still shoot straight, and also have a "nightstand gun". I've thought of getting a carry permit, but I don't do much except drive back and forth to work. And since I have a fast car and several years of racing experience, I can out-drive pretty much any threat.

I'm of average build, just a hair under 6'0", regular size hands, etc. What do y'all recommend?
  2. Before you give up on the CCW idea, White, you may want to consider the fact that only a small percentage of "unpleasant enounters" occur while in a vehicle. More often, you are likely to be acousted in a parking lot or some similar area. A CCW is simply good insurance against the unexpected.