Got A Deer

Discussion in 'The Hunting & Fishing Forum' started by ninjatoth, Nov 16, 2009.

1. ninjatoth

ninjatoth Former Guest

Well,this is my first year out on my own hunting(last year being my first ever hunt)and I got a deer.Yesterday was opening day and I saw nothing,all day.This morning I went out and saw three small does,but didn't get a shot.I have a doe tag,so I can take either bucks or does.Well,at about noon today,three more does crossed the river and was coming straight tword me.One doe was leading them and she was the biggest.I pulled up my .444 and fired off a shot while she was moving,and down she goes followed by a loud groan,I went up to her and she was still breathing,I contemplated a finishing shot,but a few seconds later she expired on her own.I did not hit any vitals,yet she was down with one shot.I also gashed my head open with the scope because I was pumped up for the shot and didn't brace the gun well.Then I dressed it and went and got the furniture dolly and rolled it 300 yards back to the house,now she is at the processor's right now getting ready to eat.Well,I still got a buck tag that needs to be filled,wish me luck.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 17, 2009
  2. pinecone70

pinecone70 Active Member

Nice work!
  3. cycloneman

cycloneman Well-Known Member

Allright!

Don't feel bad about the scope thing. I think it has happened to all of us at one time. I got mine shooting a turkey. I came out of the stand and was walking down to my bike and a flock of turkey came around the corner like they were going to run me over. Holy smokes! Pow, boot to the head. :D
  4. ninjatoth

ninjatoth Former Guest