Gun Control

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by ysacres, Mar 8, 2003.

1. ysacres

ysacres Well-Known Member

Roger1113
    (12/28/02 2:05:35 pm)
    Reply Gun Control
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have just read rhinoman's comment about gun controll in the state where he lives. Let me comment on gun controll in England, where i am from, and give you a few insights from a Cop's point of view.( I used to be a cop in England)!

Firstly, and i know you will agree gun controll does not work! It is designed to take guns away from the criminal element. What a joke! Everyone knows that you can buy just about any type, make or caliber gun you want on the black market, and sorry Rosie O,donnel etc, they are not that hard to get! The largest caliber firearm you can legally own in England is a 22 caliber, and yes it will kill you just the same as a 50 caliber. In the town where i was a cop we arrested someone for having a .44 Desert Eagle in a pub, the guy was trying to sell it! Where did he get it? Iraq -spoils of war!

If someone wanted a 12 gauge in England, i had to inspect the house run a background check and make sure the amunition was kept in a different room from the gun!

All in all gun controll does not work!

I would appreciate any thoughts on this from others.

Roger

wsmc667
    V.I.P. Member
    (12/28/02 9:21:17 pm)
    Reply peoplz rebublik of kalifornia
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    was talkin to my friendly local gun store. the pistols are FLYing off the shelves, btw.

i will not be able to buy a frame in this state. there is an approved list of handguns to buy. once received, it must pass "the test". frames are not on that list.

so... when i want a .45acp "on the cheap" i'll probably get the cz97. when i want a 1911 ... i'll look around and find a great one. probably used...

chris in sandy eggo

rhinoman
    (12/30/02 12:09:02 pm)