Guns from the 1940s

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by beforethefall, Apr 16, 2006.

1. beforethefall

beforethefall New Member

Hello folks!

I'm currently studying the 1940s for a story project I'm making. There will be some parts involving guns, so what better place to ask about information than the firearms forum!
    I've tried to search for pictures and info on the net, but I really couldn't find anything worth using.

It'd be great if anyone could help out with some names of guns that were around in the early 40s. Not specified to military. Anything will do.
    If you know where to get some pictures and general info about them, feel free to add them too.
    It's actually the pictures I need the most, since I'm going to draw them. The story will be in sort of a picture book format, for a more adult audience. (Not intended to sound dirty)

Thanks for your time!

(if this was put in the wrong section, I apologize)
  2. Before, asking what kinds of weapons were available in the 1940s is a very broad question indeed. Here are a few that might get you started, but there are literally hundreds more:

German K98 Mausar bolt action rifle (main German rifle of WWI and WWII.
    American M1 Garand semi-automatic rifle (main battle rifle for the U.S. in WWII)
    Russian Mosin-Nagant bolt action rifle, models 38 and 44, among others, primary battle rifle of the Russians in WWII.
    Colt 1911 .45 ACP semi-automatic pistol, primary military sidearm of American forces in WWI and WWII.
    Japanese Arisaka Type 99 7.7mm bolt action rifle, primary Japanese military rifle of World War II.

That's merely a small sampling. As for pictures, I would suggest you use Google Image search engine to find them. There are thousands on the Internet. Here is the link:

http://www.google.com/imghp?hl=en&tab=wi&q=
  3. beforethefall

beforethefall New Member