H&R 32 cal.

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by kbakes, Jul 23, 2011.

1. kbakes

kbakes New Member

My father just recently came across a top break hammerless .32cal marked as follows, Harrington & Richardson Oct. 4 87, Apr. 2 95, Apr. 7 96 and the s# is 28128.
    Would this be a small frame .32 1st model, 1899-1904??? If so are there any modern rounds that it can fire in place of black powder and is there any other info that im missing? Im new at this but im going to say the bluing is maybe 50 to 60% and it has wood grips with finger and thumb inlays in them!!! Also looking for any value ranges...

Thank you

Kory
  2. Jim Hauff

Jim Hauff New Member

Kbakes,
    Welcome to the forum - latest research agrees with your findings - You have a SMALL FRAME HAMMERLESS 1st Model 1st Variation 1899 - 1903. Serial number range appears to run up to around 80K. Your serial number is about 1/3 of the way there - so yours was probably made 1900 - 01. Blue finish is an option and seen on probably less than 10% of these - worth a bit more to collectors. Would need to see the grip panels to tell if they're original - standard is molded, black hard rubber with "target logo". Factory checkered walnut would bring a large premium to collectors. If, as you say, the blued finish is 50 - 60% retained - you gun would fall into the lower end of collectible an be worth somewhere in the $100 - $125 current RETAIL range.