Hardware question for the tech savvy pc guys

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fuzebox40, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. fuzebox40

    fuzebox40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Apple Valley, Ca.
    I take old computers and parts that are given to me or that I buy real cheap and so on, I clean them up and put them together to make complete ready to use systems with keyboard, speakers and all. Then I donate them to students at the grade school where my wife teaches because it’s a low income area and I learned that most of the students don’t have computers in the home. Crazy but true. Maybe 4 students per class have one at home so school has been the only access for many of them. I think it’s important so that’s why I do it. My wife raffles them off to the students that do their work. That’s how they get raffle tickets. They don’t have to be smarter or faster than the next, they simply have to be honest and make effort.

    Oh yeah, the question…ok I have these 2 processors that are almost the same and don’t know which one would be best or faster. I’ll post the specs and maybe someone can advise.
    They are AMD Athlon XP 2600’s. The one in it showed 1.14GHz in the control panel so I found one on ebay that said 2.1GHz. It was dirt cheap and I assumed much faster but now that I’ve removed the old one I see the part numbers are almost the same and this comparison sheet confuses me. Any helping thoughts?
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    old one
    -------
    Type CPU / Microprocessor

    Market segment Desktop
    Family AMD Athlon XP

    Model number ?
    2600+
    CPU part number AXDA2600DKV4D is an OEM/tray microprocessor
    Stepping codes ADYHA AIUCB AQUDA AQXCA AQXDA AQXEA AQXFA AQYFA AQYHA AQZFA IQYHA KQYHA KQZFA

    Frequency ?
    2600+ (rated)
    1917 MHz (real)
    Bus speed ?
    333 MHz
    Clock multiplier ?
    11.5
    Package 453-pin organic PGA
    1.95" x 1.95" (4.95 cm x 4.95 cm)
    AMD Package numbers 27291, 27488, 27493, 28103
    Socket Socket A (Socket 462)

    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    new one
    --------

    Type CPU / Microprocessor

    Market segment Desktop
    Family AMD Athlon XP

    Model number ?
    2600+
    CPU part number AXDA2600DKV3C is an OEM/tray microprocessor
    Stepping codes ACXJB AIUAB AIUCB AIUHB AIXHB AIXIB AIXJB JIUHB

    Frequency ?
    2600+ (rated)
    2133 MHz (real)
    Bus speed ?
    266 MHz
    Clock multiplier ?
    16
    Package 453-pin organic PGA
    1.95" x 1.95" (4.95 cm x 4.95 cm)
    AMD Package numbers 27291, 27648, 28104
    Socket Socket A (Socket 462)
  2. Sig Willy

    Sig Willy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    Texas
    Those two have different cores ie

    2133 mhz (266x8) - Athlon XP "Thoroughbred A/B" (Model 8, 130 nm)

    1917 mgz (333x5.5) - Athlon XP "Barton" (Model 10, 130 nm)

    Some mobos have the FSB running at 266 mhz and some at 333 mgz and these cpus were tailered to them.
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  3. fuzebox40

    fuzebox40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Apple Valley, Ca.
    The mobo is a (Gigabyte K7 Triton, GA-7N400 Pro2)
    I Googled a campatibility list for it, it was quite long and they both were on it. If they are both compatibly, which is better.
    The old one (AXDA2600DKV4D "Barton") appears to have a lower frequency but higher bus speed (1917 and 333) vs. (2133 and 266). These are things I don't realy understand.

    Gigabyte GA-7N400 Pro2(Rev 2.x) motherboard specifications
    Form factor: ATX
    305mm x 244mm
    CPU socket type: Socket 462
    Front Side Bus: 266 MHz FSB
    333 MHz FSB
    400 MHz FSB
    Memory: 4 DIMM slots
    Up to 3 GB
    Dual-channel DDR-266/DDR-333/DDR-400
    BIOS: Award BIOS
    2 x 4 Mbit Flash ROM
    Dual BIOS
  4. Sig Willy

    Sig Willy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    Texas
    I would say the one with the higher FSB will do better. The clock will be slower but the mobo and the memory will run faster and your apps will get done quicker. Your memory will have to capable of said speed (DDR-333) to use it. If not and you have DDR-266 then use the other cpu.

    I don't really remember but the cpu multiplier may be locked so you'll have to match 'em. I could be wrong and the mobo BIOS will allow you to set the multiplier to attain the right speed, otherwise use the right cpu to the memory speed because I think you can set the FSB speed with the BIOS.
  5. WHSmithIV

    WHSmithIV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5,461
    Location:
    Moore, Idaho
    The processor with the higher bus speed will perform better - it's a faster processor. Once installed you will need to go into the bios and verify if the speed has been automatically selected. I recommend that you remove the little battery on the motherboard for 15 seconds or so then re-install it. That will clear any settings in the NVRAM that may have been set manually previously and allow the motherboard to start the first time with the default bios settings which should pick up the correct processor speed automatically.

    Once you start the motherboard you can go into the bios to verify what it has set.
  6. fuzebox40

    fuzebox40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Apple Valley, Ca.
    That would be this one with the 333. This is the one that was already in it. Why does it only show 1.14GHz in control panel>system?

    Frequency ?
    2600+ (rated)
    1917 MHz (real)
    Bus speed ?
    333 MHz
    Clock multiplier ?
    11.5
    Package 453-pin organic PGA
    1.95" x 1.95" (4.95 cm x 4.95 cm)
    AMD Package numbers 27291, 27488, 27493, 28103
    Socket Socket A (Socket 462)
  7. Sig Willy

    Sig Willy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you have the manual with it? I think it uses jumpers to set stuff.
  8. fuzebox40

    fuzebox40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Apple Valley, Ca.
  9. WHSmithIV

    WHSmithIV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5,461
    Location:
    Moore, Idaho
    What does the bios show? Control Panel>System only shows what the bios has set.
  10. fuzebox40

    fuzebox40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Apple Valley, Ca.
    Ok I looked at jumper settings and here's the page. They're switches instead of removables. The CLK Ratio are all up as shown here but the CLK. SW is in the off position.

    Attached Files:

  11. mjp28

    mjp28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4,610
    Location:
    anytown, OHIO
    And good for you and your wife to do what is a very nice and important thing for some young students...and they will remember it also.

    Kudos pal, :thumbsup::thumbsup:
    mjp
  12. fuzebox40

    fuzebox40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Apple Valley, Ca.
    Thanks mjp. When I hear how excited they get it inspires me.
  13. Sig Willy

    Sig Willy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    Texas
    Ah, I'm starting to remember. Yes, they use DIP switches instead of jumpers but I'm sure there's some jumpers too.

    Use the auto settings to detect your cpu. CLK Switch and CLK Ratio all off.
  14. fuzebox40

    fuzebox40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,625
    Location:
    Apple Valley, Ca.
    The only jumpers I'm finding are for audio. Using driver genius to update drivers then I'll flip the switches and reboot.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Discussion Worlds best hardware store Jun 2, 2009
General Discussion Smart phone questions Saturday at 10:08 AM
General Discussion A Question For The Engineers Here Friday at 2:06 AM
General Discussion Tarzan question Oct 12, 2014
General Discussion I have a multi-part military question Oct 11, 2014

Share This Page