Harrington & Richardson Serial Number

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by David D, Sep 17, 2011.

1. David D

David D New Member

I recently came into possession of what appears to be an old H & R .22 cal. shotgun. The serial number (or at least the number written on the side of the barrell) is 10922. I am seeking information on the appx age and/or value of this firearm. Any thoughts?

Dave
  2. Jim Hauff

Jim Hauff New Member

David D,
    Welcome to the forum. I have NO knowledge of a .22 cal. shotgun produced by H&R - not saying that there wasn't an example or more of a smooth bore .22 made by them.
    The serial number is really of no help with the ID or age of such a firearm. We're going to need full posting of any and all markings on the gun and where they're located. There must be some stamping with H&R on the piece somewhere if that is how you IDed it - and also the caliber marking. Is there anything else. Can you post pictures of the gun? If not at the very least, along with all the markings - describe the type of action - break open? - bolt? anything else? Sounds like an interesting find and looking forward to learning more about it.
  3. David D

David D New Member

Jim: Thanks for your response and interest. Maybe it's not a shotgun, but it sure looks to be. It is a breech/break load. It has "Harrington & Richardson Arms Co. Worccester, Mass. USA" engraved on the side above the trigger. When you break it open the number 10922 is engraved at the loading end of the barrell. It's been in my father's attic for years and he just recently passed but I seem to recall him saying it was a .22 shotgun, but I may be wrong. It's a very small firearm - only 37 inches from end to end. I'll try and post a photo.
  4. David D

David D New Member