The Firearms Forum banner

Has anyone ever heard of or owned a bad shotgun?

3K views 27 replies 23 participants last post by  jerry52 
#1 ·
I was thinking about getting a new shotgun. Mine got stolen and I kind of miss having one around. As I was looking into brands, models, and gauges and all the price differences. It occurred to me that I can't remember ever hearing of a bad shotgun. By bad I mean one that had failure to feed, failure to eject, or failure to fire problems, or one that had broken parts after so many rounds.

I don't believe I've ever heard of any shotgun that was wore out after X number of rounds. That includes single shot, pump, lever action, bolt action, or semi-auto. It also includes any gauge made 8, 10, 12, 16, 20, 28, or 410.

Am I right, or are there some I should avoid?

#4 ·
I have limited experience with shot guns but almost every one Ive seen have very few parts to go wrong. Im looking at a Winchester 12ga SPX Defender with pistol grip. Im also looking into the 500 line from Mossberg, probably a persuader. The price difference between those two are anywhere from 100-175 bucks. Winchester was 349.00 and the Mossberg's were 449.00-569.00(with added options)

#7 ·
Charles daly semis suck
as do the Turkish semis

the Turkish pumps have lockup issues.

cheap shotguns, low QC

best to save an extra hundred bucks and buy a Mossberg 500 or a rem 870

#8 ·
I owned a Remington 1100 12ga. for 30+ years. Shot it with everything from Skeet loads to 2 3/4" Mags, and it never failed to work first time, every time, rain or shine. Only reason I sold it was because I was moving to Alaska, and figured (correctly) that a parkerized Remington 870 Mag might be better suited to our climate. My better half has used her 12ga. Mossberg 500 for about 25 years now, and it shows a bit, but it's still as reliable as the day it was bought.

G
#9 ·