Having Fun With Simple Homemade Fireworks: Project 1

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bluesea112, Oct 11, 2012.

1. bluesea112

bluesea112 Active Member

I have been making fireworks for many years. Most of what I make are aerial shells like you would see at a city firework show on the Fourth of July. However, there are plenty of simple, smaller scale fireworks you can make that won't get the Federal Jackbooted Alphabet Thugs sticking their nose in your business.

This is one of my favorites. It puts out a TON of sparks and is really easy to make. If you like twirling wire sparklers, then this project will make you giddy.

Supplies Needed:

A) 6 feet of bailing wire or any small diameter wire such as picture frame wire
    B) 1 package of 0000 or 000 steel wool

Instructions:

Open package of steel wool keeping all of the individual pads together. Wrap the wire around the entire group of pads one time very tight and twist closed. Twist wire until it is as tight as you can get it to hold the steel wool pads together.
    Use a lighter or match and touch one corner of the steel wool with the flame. As soon as the flame touches the pads, begin spinning the wire over your head like a helicopter blade spins horizontal to the ground. As you spin the steel wool, it will emit a shower of sparks on the ground around you like you have never seen before.
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
  2. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

first it was how to nitrate rice cellulose

now i can see my 'stache getting singed again ;)

you baaad ;)
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

Just dont do it in my field where all the yellow grass is. :eek:
  4. cpttango30

cpttango30 Guest

5. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

6. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member