Heip!

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Ltcjkelly, Apr 10, 2012.

1. Ltcjkelly

Ltcjkelly New Member

Want start reloading but small scale. Less the 50rds per month. Loooking to load 45coltand APC also 257 and 38. Should I start with Lee hand press? Would dies for that work on later equipment if I expand to larger press?
  2. TCoggins

TCoggins Member

Here's my opinion, which is worth the price you paid for it. I would look at the Lee Challenger kit. I have been using that for about two years now, and reload for .243, 45-70, 38 and 357. I have probably loaded a couple thousand rounds in the time I've used it. I can put three 243 bullets touching at 100 yards with my handloads. I can shoot the 45-70 for about 1/4 the cost of factory loads, and I have lost track of how many 38/357 loads I have gone through.

Is there better equipment out there? Absolutely. This equipment works well for me. Your mileage may vary.

To answer your question, the dies that you use in the Lee hand press would also work in a bench mounted press if you decided to upgrade later.

Hope these aimless ramblings help out.

Tim
  3. mikld

mikld Member

Sure, you can easily load all the cartridge you mention with a Lee Hand Loader. Dies used in the Handloader are the same for all standard presses, so they can be used later, if you want to move up to a single stage or turret press. If you have room, a single stage, bench mounted press may be more convient for you, and easier to learn with, but the process is the same, tools the same, and both can make safe, accurate ammo.

For any beginner I usually suggest a copy of The ABCs of Reloading and Lyman's 49th Edition Reloading Handbook. Read these and you will have an idea of what equipment will suit your reloading needs, from presses to all necessary tools.
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
  4. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member