1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Help for a guy asking me questions on an M91...

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by cointoss2, Mar 4, 2003.

1. cointoss2

cointoss2 Guest

polishshooter
    Senior Chief Moderator Staff
    (1/15/02 11:50:12 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Help for a guy asking me questions on an M91...
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I sold some stripper clips to a guy on GB who is now asking me questions about his 91 he's thinking of selling. I invited him here, but I think he's a computer newby and is unsure how...while I'm trying to talk him through it, here's what he's got...

(I am NOT a Finn expert, but he thinks I am...)

Sounds like a pretty run of the mill WWI capture, reissued. It is a standard Russian stocked 91, with SA stamp, and possibly Sako stamps too, he's not too good at descriptions...it has the markings on both sides of the rear sight, but the Arshini markings are not crossed out.

It's good metal, stock is dinged and missing the handguard...according to him.

BUT...I'm hesitant to tell him what I think it's worth, because he says it has GERMAN markings on the stock, a barely legible "cross" (Maltese?) and the legible words "TSCHS REICH" (His words...)

Is it a German WWI capture then sold given to the FInns? If so, is it worth more?

He's a nice guy, who is trying to get me pictures, if he comes here, please help him out, as I know you all will...

He also is selling some new guns, and doesn't know how to list them, I'm helping him there too...
    We must make war as we must; not as we would like. - Field Marshal Kitchener, 1915

Edited by: polishshooter at: 1/15/02 7:51:53 pm

Bob In St Louis
    (1/15/02 9:47:07 pm)