Help getting started

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by WHSmithIV, May 6, 2012.

1. WHSmithIV

WHSmithIV Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

I'm totally new to reloading my own ammo. Can anyone tell me what I'll actually need to get started inexpensively?

There is so much info out there and I've been reading so much of it that it would take me a 100 years to get through it all and I'd never even get one cartridge reloaded.

To start with I'd like to reload .45 ACP and 30/30 cartridges.

Will
  2. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

3. WHSmithIV

That's about $470 with shipping charges... in order just to cover the initial cost would mean reloading over 1000 rounds....
  4. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

Yup, you can go more expensive if you wish, but Lee Equipment is your best value.

You will never save money handloading. You will save money per round, but you will end up shooting a **** load more. Cheaper by the bullet more expensive as a whole.

A thousand rounds don't last long around here. Burn that up and then some monthly. Many handloaders burn that up weekly.
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  5. American Leader

American Leader Well-Known Member

WELCOME ABOARD FROM THE GREAT STATE OF IOWA! If you shoot much at all it won't take long to shoot up 1,000 rounds.
  6. rcairflr

rcairflr Well-Known Member

If you only shoot a couple rounds a year and not looking for accurate ammo through load developement, reloading may not be for you.

I started reloading about 20 years ago and have shot thousands of rounds of reloaded ammo. Because of this I have shot more and saved a lot of money.

If you are a life long shooter, the sooner you start reloading the better off you will be in the long run.

Reloading isn't just about saving money on factory ammo.
  7. WHSmithIV