Help ID antique flintlock pistol

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by Soft Squeeze, Dec 25, 2011.

1. Soft Squeeze

Soft Squeeze New Member

Hi All,
    Recently I acted on a desire to start collecting antique flintlock and matchlock weapons. Although I have been shooting for many years, and have always admired the handy-work of old weapons, I have very little knowledge about the subject. Any helpful directions as to what books, websites, museums to look into for back ground knowledge and education would be greatly appreciated.

Proceeding blindly, I started the pistol collection with a small pistol that has had some rough usage and loving repair work. I know that a pristine piece would probably have a greater market value, but the work that some craftsman put into salvaging this weapon struck a cord with me - it's something I would have done. Also, the unit has front and rear sights - which I have not seen on many flintlocks.

Here is what I have:
    Maker: Unknown Year: Unknown Markings: No visible markings
    Barrel Length: 5 3/8” outside, 4 15/16” inside
    Barrel Shape: Octagon to round, “ring” at transition
    Bore: Approx 11/16” ( .6875 caliber / 16 gauge)
    Length Overall: 10 5/8”

Unique Features / Markings:
    Front & Rear Sights
    Handle is seamed at rear of trigger guard.
    Trigger guard extension cracked & repaired
    Stock scratches (carvings?) filled near muzzle.
    Octagon Butt & Butt Plate
    Brass Flash Pan.
    Ramrod present – no tip.

General Comments & Condition
    This pistol has apparently seen some rough usage. Although the hardware is in good shape with minimal abusive wear, it appears that at some point the stock was fractured or broken at the grip. There is a layer of fill in wood strip (approx 5/8” thick) at the grip – more obvious on the left side, but in general, very finely done. A nice piece of joinery work!