Help me buy my first firearm!

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by willywonka, Jan 27, 2010.

1. willywonka

willywonka New Member

I'm a total newbie here. I've never fired a firearm in my life. I did shoot a beebee gun once when I was a kid though!

In any case, I need something for home defense. I understand that I will need to practice and get profficent. I also know that the best option is to try out a bunch of different firearms and see what works for me.

However, there's a lot to choose from, and I'd rather from some protection sooner rather than later. So I'm hoping you guys could help me narrow down a list of what I should try out.

So here's the basics of what I'm looking at.

First I need this for home defense. I might use it for conceal carry, but the primary thing I need is for home defense. So something I can use quickly is ideal. For that reason I'm looking at semi auto handguns. Nothing against revolvers, I think I would just prefer the option of a magazine.

Something that's fairly affordable and reliable is important. Reliability is the more important factor.

I injured my left wrist a few years back lifting weights (I'm right handed), so I'm a little concerned about kickback. The less the better. Need enough firepower for home defense, nothing more.

The cost of ammo is a concern since I'll have a lot of practice I'll have to do to get profficient.

Good balance is preferable to light weight.

Any suggestions for what I should take a look at?
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  2. zkovach

zkovach Active Member

The best thing you can do is go to a local gun shop. put a couple in your hand and see how they feel. Many gun shops have target ranges so you can try different guns as well. hope this helps.
  3. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Sig P6 is a solid performer and economical for a 9mm. You can find them on the surplus market readily.