Help me chose a self/home defence gun

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by Desertice, Aug 30, 2012.

1. Desertice

Desertice New Member

First of all; I would like to greet everyone here.

I live around Chicago, IL. I have a wife and 3 kids. Although the area I am in is pretty safe, but I recently started to hear some theft stories here and there... I even heard about some home intrusion in the neighborhood.....
    so, I started considering buying a gun in order to defend my family and myself in case if i have to.
    I do not have a gun at this time, but I do have medium experience in guns (I am a veteran: was an Engineer at the airforce and received basic military training multiple times).

previously (long time ago), I owned a 9mm Browning, a .38 special S&W, and a 9mm Beretta ().

and now i am trying to get back and get one gun which I will use for defense, and for training/practice as well.

here is my criteria (not ordered):
    1. preferably brand new
    2. less than $500
    3. preferably, US Made
    4. preferably, stainless steel completely (i don't like the 2-tone ones)
    5. semi-auto (not big fan of revolvers, but open to changing my mind)
    6. preferably, capacity of 13+ rounds
    7. reliable, and safe to store (remember: i have kids at home)
    8. accurate
    9. preferably, 9mm

is that difficult to find?
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF, since you only stated "preferably 9mm"; I will give you my opinion on what my choice would be for the situation you have described.

12Ga without a doubt. Mossberg 500 series are a good value and Shotguns are near ideal for home defense.
  3. Desertice

Desertice New Member

Re: Help me chose a self/home defense gun

Thank you Woolleyworm for your reply.
    I did consider a shotgun, but i am hesitating for 3 reasons:
    1. I am afraid it will damage the house if I shoot it a couple of times inside.. :)