Help me pick one

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by IronMan45, Nov 19, 2005.

1. IronMan45

IronMan45 New Member

I have the itch to purchase my first handgun (turned 21 little bit ago) so I need you guys to help me pick one. I am a college student and dont have too much money. I am looking to spend no more than $300.

I have shot many handguns in the past including, mark II , 357mag revolver, super redhawk 454 cassull, etc and I can say I dont want a 22 even if it is cheap to shoot. I want something that can shoot fairly accurate with power and I dont plan on making it a ccw.

I am interested in a 1911 style, possibly the firestorm government model which my local gun shop quoted me at 300 out the door. Other pistols I am interested in , Hi-point 45 - $95 pawnshop, sw sigma , and what I really like is the ruger p345 but it is kinda out of my price range. Any suggestions would be appreciated. thanks
  2. mtnboomer

mtnboomer New Member

Oklahoma by birth. America by the grace of God.
    Welcome to our nightmare! ;)

If you are simple looking for a plinking/casual target/home defense gun, I would say go with the Hi-Point. Although they're as ugly as the backside of a mud fence, they are accurate and reliable. A Star BM 9mm (resembles a Colt Commander) might be worth a look. A good, used 4-inch barreled .357 S&W or Ruger would be my next choice.
  3. punchie

punchie Member

If you want to stay on the cheap, try a CZ52 milsup in 7.62x25 or any of the police dept trade in guns.
  4. IronMan45

IronMan45 New Member

thanks for the recommendations guys . I kinda like that star bm and for the price it seems like a good deal; I might try to find one the next time I hit up the gun show.
  5. MattJ

MattJ New Member