Help: need to identify Double Barrel Shotgun

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by Sebastien, Mar 18, 2009.

1. Sebastien

Sebastien New Member

Hello All,

I'm very new to the firearm and I am looking to get more info on this firearm.
    My grand-father (blacksmith) past away a long time ago and my grand-mother never really went back to his shop after that. Anyway many years past by and when she decide to clean the shop. We found a Double barrel break action (12 gauge) shotgun in is lock cabinet and she will like to give it to me as part of our family heritage.

But in order to register it to my name, I need to identify it. So any help will be greatly appreciate...

Double barrel shotgun – break action with external hammer
    ELG Crown under the barrel
    Barrel is 30"
    12 Gauge

There is multiple stamp under the barrel, at the tip of the barrel it's stamp TRB A05. At the middle of the barrel is stamp 4776 which I assume to be the serial number. And at the end of the barrel, it's stamp RF12 and on the stock it's 12RF

The side of the stock has a small diamond shape logo with the letter E and beside is Special. Other than that, there is not much more... Any help will be greatly appreciated...
    Cheers,

- Sebastien

Picture were removed...
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2009
  2. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

I cant offer much, but that ELG is a Belgium Leigh proof mark.
  3. muddober

muddober Active Member

Welcome aboard and your pictures are very good. I can offer just a bit more, there were several of these guns from various small manufacturers brought into the country before the turn of 19th century and were sold by many of mom and pop general and hardware stores. Some are of better quality than others but few have any real value and most I have seen look about like yours. I have one myself but unlike yours I have no idea who owned it but I sure wished it could talk.

Ron
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
  4. Big ugly