Help! Old Muzzleloader Rifle I.D with detailed Pics!

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Lowsonoma21, Jan 19, 2010.

1. Lowsonoma21

Lowsonoma21 New Member

Hey all, New user, first post! I picked up an old muzzleloader rifle, not sure what caliber exactly, looks just short a .50 cal. It was handed down from a father, and now passed on to me. The previous owner did not shoot it, but recalls it being quite accurate when his father used to shoot it. I am in no rush to go out and shoot it, I want to assure it's safe. It is in great condition, aside from needing polishing, and minor blue n rust removal. I have detailed pictures of the firearm, and on the lock you can read the name. It doesnt make any sense to me what make it is, and I am having a hard time figuring it out. It seems to say "G Gout Cher". It almost looks like Cabela's traditional Hawkins Percussion Rifle. Since I am a Noob, I hope my pictures went through. Any information or suggestions on anything about the firearm please let me know. Thanks for your time

[​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  2. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

G'day and welcome!

no pics as yet , sorry but looking forward to them

photo bucket is a great way to share pic's

www.photobucket.com its free and heaps of bandwidth with no file size limits

this place has some limits and noticed from my own pics that unless they "fit" the rules , they dont show up

try again and good luck

cheers

jack
  3. Lowsonoma21

Lowsonoma21 New Member

Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  4. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

Ok

nice pics

This a G Goulcher lock, English made between 1856 and 1872 (also known as the gap years, no marks)

but the barrel and brasswork is not english

goulcher made locks for the equivalent of hardware guns back then and many ( over 3000 ) of his lock where sent all over the US mostly imported from england like this one