Help---- strange 30-06 reloading problem

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by deerstuffer, Mar 28, 2010.

1. deerstuffer

deerstuffer New Member

I am new to the reloading hobby. I have reloaded 300 rds of 30-06 under supervision of an experienced loader. When we tried some test fires I got only 30% to discharge, I asked other shooters at the range to try my loads and see what luck they had- result, same rate. Everyone at the range was scratching their heads because all looked good. Many said the primers were not getting indented enough and that I was seating my primers to deep. I fixed 25 rds. and got the same results. Then took gun to two gunsmiths who said gun is good. Then sent reloading dies back to Lee Manf. for test, those turned out perfect. Now have discovered that when I seat bullets deep all is good but if I seat long enough to fit my Model 70 I get the poor discharge rate (not exceeding the recommended OAL measures though) WHY and when I read that bullet seat depth should have nothing to do with discharge. What am I doing wrong!
    Thanks deerstuffer
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Seating the primers too deep? You've been talking to morons. It is impossible to seat the primers too deep. You put them in as far as they will go.

Usually, failure to fire with reloads is caused by not seating the primers deep enough. If you don't have them all the way into the primer pocket, the firing pin blow will finish seating them. That uses up some of the momentum of the mainspring, and you end up with light-strikes.

I suggest letting your "experienced loader" buddy prime 50 cases or so. That's all, just prime 'em. Then you load 'em the rest of the way. Load 'em the same way as you did your 300 rounds. Same bullet. Same overall length. Same everything. Then go test fire 'em. See if that solves the problem.
  3. deerstuffer

deerstuffer New Member