Here's an idea

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by gun-nut, Oct 13, 2012.

1. gun-nut

gun-nut Member

Is most of ya all know i work as a machinest. So i got looking in the catalogs the other nite and came up with this idea. I get tired of using the calipers when gagging the case lengths. Thumb gets tired. So for about $60.00 i bought a 6" Granite Comparators Stand and a 1/2" Flat contact point for the indicator and presto! I now can set the indicator at "0" and read the length +or- .005" or set it at the trim length and read "0" to +.010. As all the books that i have show about .010" on the case length. Now i can keep the casses seporated by the .001" and when setting the seating die i will be more consistat in the roll crimp.

Attached Files:

2. RustyFN

RustyFN New Member

If you are talking about checking to see if the cases need to be trimmed I don't gauge every case. I open the caliper to max case length and the cases that go through go in the ready to load bucket and the ones that don't go in the trim bucket.
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

I got an old Lyman EZ guage for the popular ones. its basically a piece of aluminum with the MAX lengths machines into them. if the case fits it dont get trimmed. if it dont it does..
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

gun-nut:

I keep my brass separated by lots, usually. A lot to me is brass, no matter the head stamp, that was reloaded together the last time. I randomly grab about five cases from the lot. I size them and check for case length. If any of the chosen test cases are beyond the max case length then the whole of the lot is sized, then trimmed to the manual trim-to length.

Since I only measure five cases initially and only randomly check the trimmed lengths occasionally during trimming, there is no reason for me to make such a setup. No matter what the cases would have measured, they get trimmed to the manual trim-to length.