High Power (Browning and clones) trigger

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by LDBennett, Feb 21, 2005.

1. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

I recently bought a Charles Daly High Power clone. It uses an American made frame and slide with FEG internals (it says here somewhere). The gun is actually pretty nice. But the trigger was typical Browning High Power bad: lots of gritty creep. I studied the design and determine that the magazine safety had to be part of the 7 lb trigger pull as it took about 3 lbs of creep to get to a fairly nice crisp letoff. The magazine safety is a foot that touches the inserted magazine. If the mag is not there it disallows the trigger to move the sear through some linkage in the slide. It is a unique design in that the slide must be in battery and the magazine inserted in order for the trigger pull to be traslated from a verical link on the trigger through a lever arm in the slide and back down to the sear in the frame. Anyway, during the trigger pull the trigger foot must slide vertically on the magazine surface. That is the grittyness. Polishing both the foot and the magazine surface makes the creep a lot smoother but the creep is of course still there by design.

I order a new "target trigger" from Brownells. It has a wider surface for your finger, is hard chromed and has no provision for the magazine safety (using it disables the magazine safety feature, which is fine with me as few of my other guns have that feature).