History Forum

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by Guest, Feb 23, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

polishshooter
    Senior Chief Moderator Staff
    (3/29/01 10:35:55 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All History Forum
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Let me give you little "history."

I have been reading Mil. History since I graduated from Dr. Seuss. My favorite shows as a kid in the 60s were the "Rat Patrol" and "Combat." Probably would have been expelled from school today if we were to run around the playground in our "jeeps" blasting "Tigers" and "Krauts" with our Ma Deuces like we did back then.

This led to my never fulfilled 1970s "ROTC" commitment. (No not a "Bill Clinton", a back injury!) (My only real regret in my life.) But it also meant a BA in History, with a Mil. History specialty, and some graduate work in WWII and US Mil. Policy, and my best "papers" on WWII and the Civil War.

I've shot IPSC with a 1911 I built, DCM with a Garand, hunt deer with a Winchester riot gun, and hold a CRFFL. I "shoot history" as much as read it...I figure after your specific questions, for example, are answered by the experts in the C&R forum, come here and we'll talk about your new gun's use...

The purpose of this forum is to argue passionately about what we THINK we know about history, and learn in the process.

All I ask is to show respect to each other. First, no matter WHAT you think you know, there IS someone out there who knows more than you. I learned this the hard way. I hope to get a good cross section of "Buffs," Historians, veterans, collectors, reenactors,and people merely mildly interested. AND promote the study of History! All you have to do is read...and think. There is no question too dumb, no knowledge too extensive, no opinion unassailable with reason and research...