Hornady SST slugs

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by MarkC, Nov 8, 2009.

1. MarkC

MarkC New Member

I'm having a real hard time shooting a group with Hornady SST slugs out of my 870. I have a cantilever scope mount, a Bushnell Banner 1-4 power scope, and am sure that everything is tightened down.

I comfortably shoot a 2-3" group at 50 yards, but start spraying them around to more like a 10 inch group at 100. That just shouldn't happen. I'm not a math expert, but a 2-3" group at 50 yards should = about a 4-6" group at 100. I can't figure out what's happening over those last 50 yards. I'm able to shoot a better group with my boy's little 20 gauge Mossberg Bantam 500.

I used to shoot Lightfield slugs and grouped them well at 100 yards. Could it be that my gun just plain does not like the Hornady slugs.

Any suggestions for a slug I should try? Otherwise... I'm just going back to Lightfields.

Thanks,
    Mark
  2. GMFWoodchuck

GMFWoodchuck New Member

This happens once in a while. If you get good groups with the lightfields, stick with those and forget about the hornadys. My Mossberg 500 never liked the lightfields but loves the winchester BRIs. Whatever. No big loss.....
  3. MarkC

MarkC New Member

I noticed that the Hornady bullet is 300 grains. The Lightfield is near 550 grains. Is it possible that the heavier Lightfield flies better out of the twist in my barrel?
  4. MarkC

MarkC New Member

Problem solved... went back to Lightfields, shot a easy 3 inch group at 100 yards. The twist in my slug barrel must not be appropriate for the high velocity 300 grain SST.
  5. Terry_P

Terry_P New Member