The Firearms Forum banner

Hot salts and aluminum BAD combination?

2K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  jack404 
#1 ·
So, I hear that aluminum can't go through a hot salts bluing process.:( Thats understandable, now I have a brain scratcher for you all that do this.:confused: Some guns (rifles) have aluminum receivers and steel barrels that are a pain in the caboose to pull apart; and even if you did.. I hear the fit between the two can be compromised afterward. This sounds like a problem...

So.. I like to solve problems.. But I have no experience with the hot salts solutions and how they react with anything besides steel... and ... Im told to stay away from this (right Goofy?) :dontknow:for experimenting with, and I thought if I got you the professionals opinions and possible remedies I could develop a solution to help all you hot salts bluing guys out.:dance:

So I understand the solution gets to about 295 degrees give or take depending on the solution. This temperature wont have an affect on the aluminum.. I know this because I heat treat aluminum... so... I have an Idea as to how to cover the aluminum to keep it separated from the salt solution while submerged.. Im just curious if it would work.

In the aviation industry (I work on Boeing Aircraft) :tapfoot:we have this "High abrasion, chemical resistant" paint (thank you Boeing) that is composed primarily of Teflon (it will withstand anything an aircraft can spew on it)... My thoughts were to cover said aluminum receiver (or parts) with the Teflon coating... blue your parts as you would normally do... then when all is said and done... remove the coating.. with.. paint stripper of all things...:eek:

I know this may sound silly.... and this is where the pros come in (thats you guys and gals) but would the teflon be affected by the salt solution? or would the Teflon mess up the chemical balance of the salts solution?