How big a dent, is too big a dent????

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Rogeritall, Sep 30, 2012.

1. Rogeritall

Rogeritall New Member

Simple question, but one that I imagine will be difficult to answer via computer....

Back story: I'm brand new to reloading and bought a bunch of equipment off of a friend of mine. I'm wanting to reload some .223 and .44 mag to start out with. In this bunch of stuff is a box full of .223 brass (likely over 1000 rounds), so I think "great I'm set for brass for years"...

Upon close inspection of the brass, it seems each one has a dent (in varying places) of some kind on it, of varying severity and depth. I wish I could take a photo of some of them to show you all, but I don't know if the camera would be able to focus on the dents or not: I may try and see how they turn out and hope to post later.

The dents vary from what looks like would happen if a person just lightly dinged the case sidewall with a center punch, to what would look like if you shot it with a BB gun. Some have a scrape with a bit of a crease, or almost like if someone tried to cut the case with an knife and dented it.

Some of it I just don't trust to load at all, but with the little dings and dents, how big is too big before you guys won't reload it anymore? I'm beginning to wonder if I have inherited someones junk brass collection, because I'm sure my buddy didn't shoot all that brass, and he got it from some body else. So that's the main trouble I don't know any of the history of this brass at all. Recycle and start with new, or load a few of the lesser damaged ones???

Any thoughts on the matter would be well received... Thanks.
  2. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

As you said it's hard to say without looking at the case, but in general I don't worry to much about ejection dents as long as the brass is not kinked or creased.
  3. ryan42

ryan42 New Member