How do I crimp a 30/30 bullet

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Nachoman65, Mar 11, 2010.

1. Nachoman65

Nachoman65 New Member

I'm still a little new to reloading. I've been able to crimp a 44 mag but cannot crimp a 30/30 for nothing. It maybe because its been a year since I was told how to crimp the 44 and now I just can't get it right. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum friend. How about describing your reloading set up. What brand of dies do you use, do you single stage, turret or progressive. Give us an idea how much is on your plate and we'll help you figure out how to eat it;)

My preferred weapon for crimping rifle cartridges is the LEE factory crimp die...
  3. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

With most die sets crimping is controlled by how far the bottom of the die is from the shell holder.

Run your ram all the way up and screw the die in until the bottom touches the shell holder. Then back it off the thickness of a US nickel. This should crimp the case into the bullet when you reload.

Remember, you need to line up the bullet's cannelure (crimping groove) with the mouth of the case. This is often a trial-and-error exercise. Having a round of factory ammo can be a big help in setting up the dies for seating and crimping.
  4. The_Rifleman

The_Rifleman New Member

Actually, that is opposite of my instructions.

"Screw the Lee Factory Crimp Die in to touch the shell holder plus 1/2 turn more. Adjust in for a heavier crimp. It is usually best to start with too little crimp as you can readjust the crimp again to suit your needs."
  5. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

The LEE Factory crimp Die (LFCD), as good as it is for crimping rifle cartridges, is odd man out for setting it up as it uses a completely different method for crimping than nearly everyone else's die set.