how does the military best guys compare to USPSA or olympic shooters

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting Forum' started by CrudeBehavior, Nov 9, 2011.

1. CrudeBehavior

CrudeBehavior New Member

marksmanship wise....

im sure the top guys in the military are good (special forces etc.) but how do there marksmanship skills compare to USPSA guys or olympic shooters

for instance a Navy Seal might be a great marksman, but does he really compare to someone like Jerry Miculek?
  2. geds

geds New Member

Well, if you consider Top Shot as a measurement tool, a self-taught camp counselor is a better shot than SEALS and various law enforcement agency personnel.
  3. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

Military hunt better than paper punchers ( i punch paper too ..)

our top shooters comp wise here are civilians the top mil shooter is 5th or so and shock and horror , he's Navy!!! ( sob!) army is about 7th ...

but a bunch of ex army bums myself included ate way better than the rest in our first club deer hunt
  4. 300 H&H

300 H&H Active Member

In NRA prone shooting this match up happens all the time. Go to a 600 or 1,000 yd shot and you are going to see the military teams shooting right along side of the civilians. In my opinion they compare rather well, the best of each group very good indeed. The military guys are very tough with metalic sights, as this is all they get to use for the most part, as they shoot irons in the "any sight" portion of the match.

At one time the military was strapped for long range instructors, and they recruited some distinguished expert class civilians to help teach long range riflery. This happened just a few short years ago. There was very little mentioned about it puplicly. I know because I know someone who was invited to go.

SO IMHO they are quite comparable in their skills. They just get to shoot free ammo...sort of anyway:rolleyes:

Best regards, Kirk
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  5. jack404

jack404 Former Guest