How full of powder should a .223 casing be?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by gobble, Jan 1, 2009.

1. gobble

gobble New Member

I'm new to this and am doing my first loads. I'm using Hodgdon Varget powder with 55gr remington bullets and new Remington .223 casings. Hodgon's website says a starting load is 25.5 grs and a max load is 27.5 grs. When I measure 25.5 grs of powder, it nearly fills up the casing. 27.5 just about overflows the casing. Does this seem right? Forgetting about weight, how "full" does a normal load look in a .223 casing?
  2. bluesea112

bluesea112 Active Member

Your load info is correct. My book shows 27.5 to be a compressed load, so that means that the powder will completely fill the casing. When you insert the bullet, the bullet will compress the powder.
    No matter what cartridge you are reloading, you should never have a lot of empty space (if any) in the casing. Too much empty space in the casing can cause too much pressure at the time of ignition.
    Start at the beginning load and work your way up, but never load more than your book shows to be the max. If you stick to the load data your book shows, you will be fine.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
  3. cycloneman

cycloneman Well-Known Member