How long to tumble?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by sped, Apr 6, 2003.

1. sped

sped New Member

Hi all.
    I just purchased a Lyman 1200 Turbo tumbler and it came with some corn cob media. I added some Lyman Turbo Charge to it and have been cleaning some spent brass for a couple of hours.

How long should I let it run?

How do I get it "shiny" like the reloads I have purchased at the gun shows?

How full should I keep the bowl with media?

How should I store the media after I've used it?

And finally....

How many times can I re-use the media before I replace it.

I hope that's not too many questions. Thanks for all your help.
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2003
  2. Gunguy

Gunguy Guest

Hi sped, welcome to TFF and the reloading forum.

I'm no expert on tumblers, just recently got a Frankford Arsenal tumbler myself.

I just add media and tumble until they look shiney enough for my taste and let it go at that. Usually a couple or three hours is all it takes.

I have a little invention I've used for the last 15 years its an old zerox machine electric motor that turns pretty fast RPMS, no way of clocking it, and put it in a little metal sheet frame I made. On the spinning shaft I mounted a small 1/4 inch chuck that holds different caliber mandrels to spin my cartridge brass while holding some 3M crokus pads to spin them bright and shiney in seconds.

But this is a bit labor intensive but does a better job as it far out does the media tumbler as to the end result.

Gunguy ;)
  3. Guest

Guest Guest

Have had a Lyman 1200 tumbler for years - found the length of tumbling is predicated by how fresh your media is, how many cases are dumped in, the type of case (pistol/rifle), how full the bowl is and finally - what you desire as far as clean.