The Firearms Forum banner

How should I carry a revolver - which empty chamber question?

7K views 22 replies 14 participants last post by  troutwest66 
#1 ·
I'm new to revolver carry. I'm using an outside the waste holster that coverz the trigger in an double action revolver but does not cover the hammer (S&W 686).

When carrying in public, should I leave (1) an empty chamber over the closed hammer, or (2) an empty chamber in the next chamber to be fired when the trigger is pulled in the double action mode?

#3 ·
Two new gunz here - S&W 686, S&W 66.

My wife's father was a NYC cop. One day he dropped the service revolver while in the house and it fired into the leg of the wife. This story gets repeated at family gatherings often. Apparently, the police department was not happy also.

#5 ·
Unless you are quite old, your father-in-law can't be more than, maybe, 70. If he's 70 or less, his service revolver, in the NYPD, would have been quite safe if dropped.

Therefore, either your in-laws are spinning a yarn, or he had a broken gun long before it was dropped.

Neither the 66 nor the 686 can fire from being dropped. Physically impossible. Even if you cocked it, and dropped it, and the hammer fell off full-cock, the internal hammer-block mechanism would prevent firing, unless the trigger is held all the way to the rear.

But - IF you were carrying a revolver that COULD fire from being dropped, you would carry the chamber under the hammer empty. Carrying it with the "next up" empty would require the hammer to be cocked, which would rotate "next up" into "firing position". Ain't no way to "accidentally" do that.

#6 ·
Alpo nailed it. Modern revolvers have a safety transfer bar, or a hammer block, so that the gun can not be fired by dropping it, or striking the hammer.

#7 ·
thanks, all.