How to determine best COL (9mm)?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by prof_fate, Feb 21, 2012.

1. prof_fate

prof_fate Former Guest

I'm new to reloading and ran a batch of LRN and wasn't impressed with the accuracy. Not sure what to blame or work on first (tried 3 different loads of the same powder - all were about the same). Same COL.

From what I've read COL is a big determinate in how accurate the ammo/gun is.

Recipes list a min COL and there is a max for the caliber of course.

So how do you determine the best COL? If you change bullets (weight or shape or material) or powder (type or charge) do you have to start over from scratch, or would the COL for your remain the same?
  2. cranky cj

cranky cj New Member

I don't know about all the rest of the stuff but this is what i do; look up the book's max COL listed and set the first one to that and see how well it chambers, if it won't chamber I keep shortening, or pressing it in, until the round will chamber without any hangups. So, i end up with the max COL for my particular gun. the last 9mm and 45acp reloads were, I thought, accurate. I've measured factory ammo and it usually comes in way under my layman COL listed length. Lets see what everybody else has to say.
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

In a rifle yes, seating depth and how the case is sized makes a difference. With handgun ammo the powder used is the biggest accuracy factor. If you arent getting an accurate load with any charge weight within the recipe for that powder then switch powders. Ill tell you now that one of the absolute best powders I have ever burned in 9mm loads is Unique. It gives near 100% load density with all bullet weights and is just plain accurate. Only trade off is, its a little dirty. So if you shoot a stainless gun, itll be black after just a few mags. But the groups will be worth it.
  4. 76Highboy

76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member