1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

I am a Veteran

Discussion in 'The VMBB Poets' started by Guest, Feb 27, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Misterstan
    (5/25/01 6:27:52 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All I am a Veteran
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The following Letter to the Editor appeared in today's Arkansas Democrat Gazette, forwarded by a friend. The author writes very eloquently why we are not at work Monday. Enjoy the day. Remember the Veterans. They have
    earned our respect and admiration.

Stan Lambert
    St. Clair Shores, Michigan
    ---------------------------------------------------------

A Veteran speaks his mind

I am a veteran and I'm probably different from you.

I don't hunt, because I've been the hunted and I know how it feels.

I don't own a gun, because I've seen the effects of one and I don't want to see it again.

I don't care what you do today, because I know that what I did yesterday gives you the freedom to do it. Just don't tell me it's your "right."

I've listened to non-veterans tell me "how it was" just because they once read a book. I kept my mouth shut, because it's rude to call someone names to his face.

I have memories you cannot and will not understand ever.

I have feelings about this country that you cannot and will not understand, either.

I am a veteran.

I answered when I was called, put on a uniform, traveled away from home and did what I was told to do. I didn't hide. I didn't run. I didn't look for some excuse or some way out. I still have that uniform in a storage box and
    I will put it on again if the need arises.

Some call me stupid. Some call me brave. Some call me uninformed. Some call me a hero.

I call myself a veteran, and I am different from you.