I am new to reloading, and have a questions about space needed

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by maddevildog, Jan 28, 2010.

1. maddevildog

maddevildog New Member

Hello,
    My first post, thanks ahead of time here. I want to start reloading but I live in a 3 bedroom townhome, with no basement. One room is the master for me and my wife, the 2nd is my daughters room and the 3rd room is smaller that I have my gun safe in and a computer desk. My question is does anyone reload in a spare bedroom and is it safe? I do not see much of a difference if material is stored in a basement vs a BR except space because I can lock a BR door.

I do have a 8x12 shed that I use as a workshop/storage but I am in NJ which get s cold in the winter and hot in the summer. So i do not htink it would be very wise to keep equipment and non flamable materials in the shed.

Any info, adive or tips would be great.

Thanks,
    DJ
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Yes I do, and it is absolutely safe. Also, having your powder and primers inside your heated and air conditioned house, where they stay in the 50 to 80 degree range, keeps them good much longer than having them out in the garage where it gets 130 in the summer and 15 in the winter.
  3. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

I agree, get yourself some military ammo cans, they nicely and safely store primers and powder. I keep all my components in them. BTW good questions, you have your thinking cap on, a must for learning to reload. Welcome!
  4. springerbuster

springerbuster New Member

I use a spare bedroom rather than my shop for the same reasons, as others have said. It is also a more comfortable place to work.
  5. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    I also reload in the spare bedroom. My bench is only 2 1/2 X 4 feet. All the room I need.
  6. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

7. RandyP

RandyP Member