I built my 1911.

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by frosty, Feb 1, 2004.

1. frosty

frosty New Member

Total cost was $429
    Slide $85 (mil surplus colt contract) at a gunshow
    Barrel $40 (mil surplus chrome lined) at a gunshow
    Frame (Essex Stainless) $150
    All the inner parts $154 (mil surplus) at a gunhshow

I have never done this before. I enjoyed every minute of it.

I had to shorten the verical distance on the grip safety because the hammer was catching on the halfcock. Problem solved. I had to deepen the slot in the slide for the disconnector to work. All of this was easier than I thought it would be. I throated the barrel and polished the feed ramp on the frame.

This pistol was born on February 1, 2004.

The first few rounds fired were dented on the side. The last round did not go into full battery.I changed to a Wilson Combat 8 rnd magazine and the dents in the brass stopped so did the problem of not going into full battery. The action of the pistol functioned perfectly. I will have to post some pics of the targets. I was getting 2 and a half inch groups at 18 yrds.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 1, 2004
  2. frosty

frosty New Member

I have to admit something weird.
    It seems that the one I made is more accurate than my Springfield. I mean to say I was hitting exactly where I was pointing the pistol. Is this normal as far as building your own???

Here is a picture of back end.........

Attached Files:

3. z537z

z537z New Member

That's really cool stuff you guys... If I had the time to gather up the parts and put it together.
    Not to mention the money...though it looks like you guys are savin some serious money here! I payed about 550 for my revolver in .22. Though I do love it...

Any hints for newbies? How accurately do you think that pistol will shoot with those milsurp parts, Zig? Vise or rest it and post up some targets!

_z
  4. Benbpi

Benbpi New Member